## MONTGOMERY COUNTY ESD 1 MONTGOMERY COUNTY, TEXAS

The Board of Commissioners of Montgomery County ESD 1, convened in SPECIAL session on August 23, 2021 with the following Board Members to-wit:

Members Present: J. Steven Weisinger, President

Chuck Frank, Vice President Sharene Carr, Treasurer

David Cooper, Assistant Treasurer

Tom Rozier, Secretary

Members Absent: None

The SPECIAL meeting of Montgomery County ESD 1 was called to order on August 23, 2021, at 6:02 P.M. by President J. Steven Weisinger. All members were present, therefore constituting a quorum. Also present were Fire Chief Jason Oliphant, Assistant Chief Shane Houser, Office Administrator Crystal LaCaze, Administrative Assistant Andrea Meek, Administrative Assistant Kayla Gibson, Deputy Chief -Training Kirk Bailey, Deputy Chief -Logistics Eric Rodriguez, Accountant Brian Desilets and Bookkeeper Santos Acuna.

A Public Hearing was held to allow each citizen the opportunity to address Montgomery County ESD 1 to express their concerns on the proposed tax rate. President J. Steven Weisinger opened the public hearing at 6:02 PM. No public offered comments on the tax rate. The hearing was closed at 6:05 P.M.

Addressing item #4 of the agenda, upon a motion made by Commissioner Carr and seconded by Commissioner Cooper the board voted unanimously to adopt the District's FY 2021-2022 budget as presented.

Addressing item # 5 of the agenda, Set by Order the 2021 Ad Valorem Tax Rate for Maintenance and Operations. A motion was made by Commissioner Rozier to adopt the Tax Order supplied by the Tax Assessor using the required statutory language: "I move that the property tax rate be increased by the adoption of a tax rate of \$.1000/\$100, which is effectively a 9.29 percent increase in the tax rate." The motion was second by Commissioner Carr. The board voted unanimously in favor. The motion to adopt the tax rate for maintenance and operations and to approve the Order as presented passed. Motion was then made by Commissioner Carr to adopt a 2021 tax rate for debt of zero. Motion seconded by Commissioner Cooper. The motion was approved by a vote of 5 to 0. Mr. Weisinger noted that the District 2021 Total Tax Rate is set at \$0.1000/\$100 and instructed that the Order be forwarded to the Tax Assessor.

There being no further business, upon a motion made by Commissioner Cooper and seconded by Commissioner Carr, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn at 6:17 P.M.

## Crystal LaCaze

District Office Manager and Administrative Secretary Montgomery County ESD 1